the taylor tunes

You’re all the Taylor tunes. You’re my most romantic story. No one has ever made me crazy the way you do, and as much as I love Taylor Swift, as much as I thought I knew my heart, only now so I really get those moments she speaks of, only now do I think I get crazy love. Thank you for this greatest of gifts, the best anyone could ever give.

I wanted to write another Steps of the Ryman song to bookend our time but let’s be real – I’m not a songwriter, I’m a blogwriter and a dreamer. I wanted to write all about our perfect date. Instead, I am listing lines from songs that aren’t my own, and I’ll continue to entertain a romantic make-believe tale of a man I know as CountryMan was so moved by our time together that he made Mellie the star of the song that became a track on his first sold-out album.

While I dream of the words I like to think you wrote about me in this fantasy of mine, here are words that continually seem to run through my mind when I think of you.

SELF-TITLED

When you think happiness, I hope you think that little black dress, think of my head on your chest. When you think Tim McGraw, I hope you think of me.

You’re beautiful, every little piece, love. Don’t you know, you’re really gonna be someone. And when you find everything you’ve looked for, I hope your life leads you back to my front door. But if it don’t, stay beautiful.

FEARLESS

And I don’t know how it gets better than this, you take my hand and drag me head first, fearless. You put your eyes on me. In this moment now, capture it, remember it. It’s fearless.

Walkin’ the streets with you and your worn-out jeans, I can’t help but think this is how it ought to be. You belong with me.

Breakin’ down and comin’ undone, it’s a roller coaster kinda rush, and I never knew I could feel that much, and that’s the way I loved you.

SPEAK NOW

You touch me once and it’s really somethin’, you find I’m even better than you imagined I would be. I’m on my guard for the rest of the world, but with you, I know it’s no good. I see sparks fly whenever you smile.

Please don’t be in love with someone else, please don’t have somebody waiting on you. All I can say is I was enchanted to meet you.

RED

Touching him was like realizing everything you ever wanted was right there in front of you. Memorizing him was as easy as knowing all the words to your old favorite song. Loving him was red.

All I know is you said hello, and your eyes look like coming home. Everything has changed.

You throw your head back laughing like a little kid. I think it’s strange that you think I’m funny ’cause be never did. I’ve been spending the last eight months thinkin’ all love ever does is break, and burn, and end. But…I watched it begin again.

1989

Say you’ll remember me. Say you’ll see me again, even if it’s just in your wildest dreams.

Darlin, we found wonderland. You and I got lost in it. And we pretended it could last forever. In wonderland.

UNKNOWN

I hope Taylor’s next album tells the tale of reunited souls, a song I hope speaks to my hope I can have you the way I want you, how my irrational feelings and request to have you all to myself right here in Nashville comes true. And I hope it doesn’t end with a final verse that reveals it was all only a dream. Maybe Taylor, our imaginary friend we speak of so casually as if we’re all super close, will catch wind of Steps of the Ryman and she can make it into something perfect for these two fans that are us; it can be our Our Song. Maybe she’ll include Perfect Date feat. CountryMan, thus launching you into your inevitable place of stardom a little earlier than foreseen.

Whatever she writes about, no matter when that album comes out, I doubt there will be a song on there that could ever fully speak to the beauty that was our perfect date, the beauty that’s us. We can’t have one another forever – maybe we can, I suppose the future is unknown (though can anything last forever?) – but I’m just so grateful we forever have April 25th, and that we have our story.

 

Leave a Reply

